When a Buffalo driver passes a stop sign or yield sign, he or she may be charged with a traffic infraction.
While a traffic infraction is not considered a criminal charge, it still may carry some serious penalties.
Although it is unlikely, a first time offender convicted of Passing a Stop Sign or Passing a Yield Sign may be sentenced to serve up to 15 days in jail.
While a sentence to jail time is rare, a substantial fine is common.
The maximum possible fine for a first time offender is $150.00. In addition to this fine, however, there is also a mandatory New York State surcharge of between $88 and $93, depending on the location of the court of conviction.
A conviction for passing a stop sign or yield sign also will result in 3 points being assessed against the license of the convicted driver.
A New York State driver’s license will be suspended if the driver accumulates 11 points within 18 months.
Aside from this possible suspension for multiple violations, accumulating 6 or more points within 18 months results in the assessment of an additional penalty, called a Driver Responsibility Assessment, of at least $300.
This additional penalty will be payable to the DMV.
If you need help with a traffic ticket, please feel free to call us at 716-542-5444.