While most moving violations in New York are classified as non-criminal traffic infractions, Reckless Driving is a misdemeanor, which means it is a crime. The penalty for a first time Reckless Driving offender is up to 30 days in jail, a fine of up to $300, or both.
If someone commits the offense of Reckless Driving twice in an 18 month period, the penalties rise to up to 60 days in jail, a fine of up to $525, or both. Three such offenses within 18 months results in potential maximum penalties of 180 days in jail, a $1,125 fine, or both.
A Reckless Driving conviction also will result in 5 points being assessed against your New York State driver license. Accumulating 11 or more such points in an 18 month period will result in the Department of Motor Vehicles revoking or suspending your driver license.
If you have been issued a traffic ticket and have any questions about the potential penalties, we would be happy to help you. We can be reached at 716-542-5444.