Can New York State Fine Out-Of-State DWI Defendants Who Refused The Breath Test?

An out-of-state driver arrested for drinking and driving in the Rochester area should consult with an experienced Rochester DWI lawyer who understands the laws for out-of-state drivers.

When a New York State driver is convicted of Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated, Driving While Intoxicated, Driving While Ability Impaired by Alcohol, Driving While Ability Impaired by Drugs or Driving While Ability Impaired by Alcohol and Drugs – or is found to have refused a chemical test – he or she must pay a mandatory “driver responsibility assessment” to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in the amount of $750, which can be paid over the course of three years at $250 per year.

This assessment is in addition to any fine imposed by the court.

If a New York driver does not pay the assessment, his or her driving privileges will be suspended.

For out-of-state drivers convicted of a drinking and driving offense in New York State, the New York State DMV frequently will mail a billing statement to them requiring payment of this penalty, even if the driver does not hold a driver’s license issued by the NYS Department of Motor Vehicles.

While the New York State DMV does not have the authority to suspend a driver’s license issued by another state based on failure to pay the driver responsibility assessment, it can suspend the driving privileges of an out-of-state driver within the borders of New York State.

As a result, a driver from another state who fails to pay this penalty may not legally drive in New York State, even if he or she has completed all the other requirements associated with the drinking and driving conviction necessary to regain full driving privileges.

In other words, any out-of-state driver who will be returning to New York State must pay this assessment to be able to legally drive upon their return.

If you have been charged with drinking and driving, it is important to protect your driving privileges.

Please feel free to call us at 585-484-7432 for legal help.

Recent Posts

What Happens After a Thanksgiving Weekend DWI in New York?

After a Thanksgiving weekend DWI arrest in Rochester, New York, you may receive criminal charges, [...]

Can You Get a DWI After a Halloween Party in New York?

Yes. You can be charged with DWI after leaving a Halloween party in New York [...]

Labor Day Weekend DWI Arrests in Rochester and Across New York: What Drivers Should Expect in 2026

New York drivers should expect increased impaired-driving enforcement around Labor Day weekend. For 2026, the [...]

Memorial Day to Labor Day DWI Arrests in Rochester: What Drivers Should Expect

Memorial Day through Labor Day is one of the busiest periods for DWI enforcement in [...]

Memorial Day Weekend DWI Arrests in New York: What Happens After a Holiday Traffic Stop

 Memorial Day weekend in New York is a time when roads are busier, alcohol consumption [...]

DWI Arrests Spike After the Holidays: What You Need to Know in New York

The holiday season is synonymous with gatherings, festivities, and an uptick in alcohol consumption. While [...]

Thanksgiving DWI Arrests: What Rochester Drivers Need to Know

Thanksgiving marks one of the busiest and most festive times of the year. It’s a [...]

What Happens If You Get a DWI on Halloween in New York?

Halloween is often seen as a night of celebration, full of costumes, parties, and plenty [...]

Leave a Reply