What Is The Penalty For Speeding In Buffalo?

Speeding is a traffic infraction, which means that it is not considered a crime in New York State.

A Buffalo driver convicted of this offense, however, may still face some very stiff penalties.

While it is rarely imposed, a first time offender convicted of Speeding may be sentenced to serve up to 15 days in jail.

This rises to 30 days if the speed limit was being exceeded by more than 30 mph.

More frequently, a fine will be imposed. The amount of the fine varies depending on the amount the speed limit was exceeded.

If either no speed was recorded or the driver was going too fast under the circumstances but not exceeding a posted speed limit, the fine for a first time offender will be between $45 and $150.

For a driver going 1-10 mph over the speed limit, it will $90-150. This fine is incrementally increased as the driver’s speed goes up, rising to $360-$600 if the speed is more than 30 mph over the speed limit.

In addition to the fine, there will be a mandatory New York State surcharge between $88 and $93.

Speeding also will result in points being assessed against the defendant’s driver’s license, with the license being suspended if 11 points are incurred within 18 months.

The number of points imposed varies between 3 – where there is no speed recorded or the speed is 10 mph or less over the speed limit – to 11 (automatic suspension) for driving 40 or more mph over the speed limit.

Accumulating 6 or more points within 18 months will result in an additional fine, called a Driver Responsibility Assessment, of at least $300.

If you need help defending against a traffic charge, we are experienced attorneys. Please feel free to call us at (585) 484-7432.

Leave a Reply