What Is The Penalty For Forcible Touching In Buffalo, New York?

Forcible Touching is a crime and will result in any adult Buffalo resident convicted of the offense having a permanent criminal record.

It also carries other serious repercussions.

As a class A misdemeanor, Forcible Touching has a maximum possible jail sentence of up to one year.

The Court may also impose a sentence of up to three years of probation.

If the jail sentence is limited to 60 days or less, the Court may sentence a defendant to a jail term followed by probation.

In addition to or in place of these penalties, the defendant also faces a fine of up to $1,000.

Even if no fine is imposed, the Court is required to impose a mandatory surcharge of $175, a crime victim assistance fee of $25, a DNA fee of $50, and a supplemental sex offender victim fee of $1,000.

It the victim of the Forcible Touching was under the age of eighteen or the defendant has a prior conviction related to sexual conduct, the defendant will also be required to register as a sex offender in the New York State Sex Offender Registry.

As long as he or she is required to remain in the registry, the offender must provide information such as his or her home address and place of employment to law enforcement.

If you have been accused of Forcible Touching, you face very serious penalties.

Call us at 716-542-5444 for experienced legal help.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *